detail from 'memories' artwork

detail from 'memories' artwork

I’ve finished this  ‘Memories’ piece (approx A3 in size) and am ready to frame it. It is inspired from an ugly ornament that belonged to my grandmother. I loved my granny so much but when she died last year, I realised how much I didn’t know. Why was this little rose bowl so precious to her that it always adorned her dresser for as long as I can remember? This artwork is created using layers – photos printed onto Chinese rice paper, mulberry paper, monoprints that I created, daisies and rubbings from a gravestone. The rubbings make me smile, as I had to skulk in the local graveyard and hope no curious neighbour spotted me acting in a suspicious manner. The daisies are particularly poignant as Granny Mom had taught me how to make daisy crowns and these ones were picked on the day of her funeral.

