detail of 'walking home' (work in progress)

At one stage it looked like it was going pear-shaped, but the canvas was rescued and as so often happens, the problem areas added texture and depth. This small canvas (25cm square) is a new artwork I am currently working on using a poem I have written and layered textures. I have yet to attach the found objects to complete the piece. I learnt new techniques such as how to use Dutch gold and metal lettering stamping. The letters of the poem (in the light area) have become a little too subtle so that is the next challenge.

It was a very satisfying red letter day working in Lin’s studio. Lin Kerr opens her studio once a month where you can work on your own projects, using her art tools and her expertise. I can highly recommend it – an ‘Art Day’ is better than a tonic. Click on this link to find out more about red letter days.