An extract from my Seasons Journal: ‘The poppies are still out but have a very different structure from the floppy poppies of June. We are now enjoying poppy heads which are highly ornamental and an inspiration to designers everywhere. The grass is yellowing and it tickles as we walk along The Furlong. There is a dry heat which makes me feel as if I am in South Africa especially as I start to perspire uncomfortably even though it is early in the morning. The crickets’ chirps are all that break the silence as the birds have gone quiet having started twittering some time before 4:00am. I love the very early morning music and the layers of sounds and tones that the different species produce but it does make for a restless sleep.’ Wondering what this project is all about? Have a look at this entry.

