My grandmother on holiday with her parents and two older sisters.

A few years ago my grandmother shared happy memories about her childhood holidays and how much joy they had given her. I was taken aback and shocked at her experiences compared to what we expect of holidays today. Granny Mom lived in Bridport and their much-anticipated annual family holiday was in West Bay a mere 1½ miles away. Holidays are now so complicated and we travel long distances with high expectations. We owe our family and ourselves two or three holidays a year and at least one should be overseas.

I want to create an art piece that records my grandmother’s holiday memories of the 1920s and I hope with a gentle prod help us rethink our own expectations. It will also be a reminder of happy beach holidays in childhood when simpler things gave great satisfaction. Originally the artwork was meant to emphasise the contrast of holidays 80 years apart but as I started researching, I realised that some things don’t change – children still love the sun, the sand and messing about on the beach. The sounds of seagulls, waves and excited high-pitched voices are still the same.

I will work with layering techniques similar to this piece ‘Memories’ which was also inspired by my grandmother.

