To find out more about holidays in the 1920s I read a book called ‘Just a line from West Bay’ which is a collection of post cards of West Bay. I learnt that a Fishermen’s Regatta had been revived in 1922 which provided entertainment with its booths and trade stands. There were water polo matches and it was quite normal to swim in the harbour, in fact part of it was enclosed for a swimming club. There would have been musical concerts and visits to tea rooms but I know that my granny’s family most likely enjoyed picnics and walks. The children would do much the same things as we do today – paddle in the water, catch crabs, make sand castles, bury their feet in the sand and collect pebbles. Did they whine a little if they were chilly? I understand that my great-grandmother was a battle-axe so probably not!

I wanted to use photos from the book and after contacting the author, I realised that he was one of the experts on The Antique Road Show – Paul Atterbury. I really appreciated his prompt email saying that it would be fine to use the images and did I know he had also written a large coffee table book called ‘On Holiday’? I immediately ordered it and am soaking in its nostalgic images.

Researching for this art project has enriched the experience while liaising with Paul Atterbury added to the adventure as I learnt about holidays of yesterday. Wondering what this is all about? Click here to find out more about this project.

