Focus point in foreground (1/50 4.5 WB - sun)

Focus point in middle ground (1/80 4.5 WB - sun)

Focus point in background (1/80 5 WB - sun)

Using the AE lock

Torch light at slow speed, using flash (8" 4 Flash, second curtain)

Sparkler at slow speed, using flash (8" 4 Flash, second curtain)

Polarizing filter (left image with filter, right image without filter)

My photographic tutor says, “Use your cameras like driving a car – automatically changing settings to suit the circumstances.” To do this, I need to practice lots. Above are the results of my final technical projects. By focussing on the background of the toy blocks, colour became the emphasis while the subject of ‘toy blocks’ became important when focussing on the foreground. I played with the AE lock when out to lunch at Quayles with a special friend. The AE lock is a dinky button which holds a light reading from a different part of a room and thus achieves detail in what could be difficult light conditions. I enjoyed experimenting with a polarizing lens to enhance colour and cut out glare although personally I think it made Cornwall look a little unrealistic.

