Happy New Year! I thought before I set my creative goals for 2013 – desperately trying to keep them realistic and attainable – I would review 2012. What an uplifting experience it was to flick through my blog as there were so many experiences and design projects I had forgotten about.

I achieved my goal of completing one art work called ’80 Years Later’. It was deeply satisfying to create this mixed media project and to capture my grandmother’s holiday experience.

I completed a camera course on ‘Understanding your DSLR camera’ and I’m using my camera more adeptly. I enjoy entering the weekly photo challenge and have found that setting myself photographic projects such as ‘Reflections of Dartmouth’ has encouraged me to take more photos. I even won a photography trophy in our ‘prestigious’ village family show.

I have designed a number of fun invitations from Jubilee events to children’s parties as well as some new cards for the ‘Loving Letters’ range. There has been ‘The Beast’ to design which was an enormous pop-up stand for the village where I hoped my judgement on scale was correct – thank goodness it was. I have also had some inspiring outings such as to the Roald Dahl museum, On Form exhibition, Lin’s Flowers exhibition and Paul Kessling’s Private Road exhibition as well learning to forage for spring greens and mushrooms. A new dimension has been added by exploring craft with a group of women where not only do we learn new skills but are also able to support each other and have fun together.

And this year… I want to continue with my Snap project which is to be an artpiece about the lost village of Snap. I want to press on with photography and I’m currently working on an interesting woodland information panel. Oh yes, and I plan to knit a cable cushion with my craft friends! The biggest goal is to start working more formally as a graphic designer when my youngest goes to school in September.

