snells woodlandI have been working on a very interesting job. The brief from the local environmental group was to create a sign for Snells Woodland that would inform passer-bys about the area that the environmental group manage. Mhairi provided me with the sketch above. I felt confident about designing the layout but my first hurdle was that I needed illustrations of plants and photos of wildlife. I initially thought I would have a go at the illustrations myself and sat down to paint a ‘Lords and Ladies’. Even with the expert tuition of my mother who is a watercolourist, I was only averagely pleased with my results (below) and the idea of painting another 10 pictures filled me with concern. I am a designer not an illustrator. Like many voluntary projects there wasn’t an enormous budget so it was a matter of networking and goodwill and I considered the options.lord and ladies

