elderflower elderflower3In case you hadn’t noticed the elderflower was out late this year – very late. Normally cordial is a delight for June but this year we had to wait until July. I love this new recipe I’ve tried for Elderflower Cordial from the book The Thrifty Forager by Alys Fowler. It is surprisingly easy to make – so easy that I made it with the local pre-school.

Elderflower and Grapefruit Cordial

25 elderflower heads
1.8 litres water
1.35kg granualated sugar
4 oranges or 2 grapefruit sliced
1 lemon sliced
50g citric acid

  • Pick the elderflowers, shaking them gently to remove little insects who have made themselves at home.
  • Heat two-thirds of the water with the sugar, stirring until it is all dissolved and completely clear. Then allow it to cool.
  • In a large bowl, combine the cooled water with the rest of the water, the sliced fruit, the citric acid and the elderflowers.
  • Leave it for at least 24 hours and then strain through a muslin. (I allow my mixture to steep for 48 hours for lots of flavour).
  • Pour into clean, sterilised bottles and store somewhere cool and dark. It should keep for several months.

My Tips:
I buy super cheap still water from the supermarket and then use the bottles to contain my cordial. They are clean and sterile and I don’t have issues with mould which was a problem a few years ago when I was using ‘posh’ bottles that were very difficult to sterilise.
Don’t wash your elderflower before putting it into the water – you end up washing away the flavour.
You can buy citric acid online from Amazon.elderflower2

