betjeman1 betjeman2 betjeman3 betjeman4 betjeman5 betjeman8

An autumn half-term jaunt with my three children turned into a delightful discovery in our backyard. We set off using a map to follow the Letcombe Brook and to enjoy the autumn season – and found a secretive little park called Betjeman Millennium Park. What a pleasure to discover the poetry trail of Sir John Betjeman who had lived in Wantage. I enjoyed the poem in blocks that can only be read if you are in the exact right position and yet the fragments are tantalising in themselves. Interestingly, I didn’t appreciate that it looked like a gravestone until I saw the photographs and wondered at the time why my daughter asked if someone had died there. The cherry on the top was seeing an enamel sign on The Sack House which reads ‘The West of England Sack Hiring Company Ltd’. The building dates back to the early 19th century and served as a depot for hiring sacks to farmers and corn merchants to transport goods. Old signs, graphics, history – and walking with my children bring me so much pleasure and what treasures to discover so unexpectedly. One day I will buy an enamel sign for my home!

betjeman7

Crossing the metal pipes – an added extra to our walk (not part of the recommended route!)

