Art2lr Art3lr
Art4lr
This month I visited a place a little closer to home – exhibitions at The Vale & Downland museum. The are a number of exhibitions throughout the year as well as a permanent museum about the Vale and its surrounding area which I have enjoyed visiting many times. I have a lot to thank the museum for as they were the first stockists of my cards and also inspired me to exhibit my book called ‘Journey‘ giving me a confident boost.

I saw Notes from a Potter’s Diary by Jo Bosley and Lyn Harrison who are both potters. They draw inspiration from the countryside and then interpret their images into ceramics. I loved the way they made sketches and notes but found that the pottery objects lost something of their loose, fluid lines and became a bit ornamental. I thought their best works were when the subject matter was most stylised.

Art1lr

I also popped into the exhibition of the Wantage Art Group –  a group for practicing artists, beginners and those who are trying to start. It was good to see people ‘having a go’ and I know from experience how important it is to finish a piece of artwork, not just try different techniques. Having an exhibition to aim towards is an excellent impetus. Through the Trees 2 by Amanda Hislop using paper, acrylics, and stitching caught me eye with its gorgeous textures.

About this post: My 2014 resolution is to visit a creative place every month.
January – The Ashmolean: Malcolm Morley
February – Oxford School of Photography
March – The Ashmolean: Cézanne and the modern

April – The Jam Factory
May – Art in Ardington
June – On Form exhibition
July – Crossing Borders
August – David in Florence

