landmark handbook lr
Landmark pages lr

The Project:
For just over 4 months of last year I was working flat-out on a fascinating and all-consuming design job. I had the opportunity to update the 300-page Landmark Trust Handbook and it’s been one of my biggest freelance jobs to date.

Landmark Trust is a building-conservation charity and for the last 50 years they have bought buildings that are of historic interest whether grand or humble and restored them before they fall into irreparable decay. Once restored, the buildings are let for holidays to generate income and to earn their keep. They vary from follies to castles to towers and even a classically inspired pigsty (for humans to inhabit now)!

In April 2014 I was approached by a friend and colleague, Helen, who worked in marketing for Landmark and asked if I would quote to update their special 50th edition of the handbook. I was delighted to be awarded the job and then the hard work began.

I was updating images, text, plans and maps and correcting 101 changes from the previous edition. The handbook was paginated into areas of the country rather than being produced alphabetically and the first 40 pages which formed the introduction were totally redesigned. Some properties were ‘out’, then ‘in’ then ‘out’ again and there were ‘new kids on the block’ such as Belmont in Lyme Regis. It hadn’t even be photographed properly yet as it was still being restored which is always a challenge for a designer. The handbook had to be perfect as Landmark Friends like detail and are excellent at spotting errors in historical information or on maps! Even the floor plans of the 196 properties were changed if sofas were moved to other parts of the house and fireplaces were enlarged. I worked very closely with Helen and her team checking amends and between us deciding on images and how to approach the trickier pages.

What impressed me was that as a team we were all working remotely and yet were so connected by commitment and technology (including many PDFs). The whole team kept their sense of humour and even in stressful situations remained calm. Landmark Trust is an excellent client to work for with a product that is interesting and taught me much. I felt quite bereft in September when the handbook went off to production and my part in the process was complete.

