cushion1lr cushion2lr

My youngest daughter loved her owl top and was despondent when she outgrew it. I squirreled it away and then on her birthday it reappeared as a cushion much to her delight. To ‘upcycle’ the top, I stabilised the appliqué with Bondaweb which is an adhesive that fuses to fabric when heat is applied so that it doesn’t fray. I then carefully cut out the owl design and sewed it onto a square of pre-washed denim fabric. (Always pre-wash fabric to reduce further shrinkage). I sewed the front and back of the cushion together and popped it over a pillow pad. All done!

This birthday had a bit of a theme as I also made my daughter a Union Jack pillow. It looks complicated but it made from strips of fabric sewn onto a large 60cm square of fabric including recycling old pairs of jeans. The possibilities are endless… my other two children have their own Union Jack pillows. Thanks Ali for all your inspiration – what a great friend. Titanium the cat is not a pillow, he is just so lazy he wouldn’t move while I bustled around taking photos!

cushion3lr cushion4lr cushion5lr

