I will backtrack as one of my best advisors, Megan Kerr, who is incidentally also my sister suggested that it would be helpful to see the processes behind designing a logo. Helen Hartstein is starting up a new company and didn’t have an enormous budget for a corporate identity. However, she recognised that it is very important to have a well designed logo that looks professional as it sets the tone for the company and will also give potential clients confidence. She gave me a clear brief and to keep the price down, I explained that I wouldn’t explore lots of different avenues but stick to the brief. Some clients give a looser brief and may want to see 3 – 4 completely different solutions but that would be a more expensive option. Other clients would want a logo designed and then ask me to design stationery (business card, letterhead, complimentary slip), a brochure, flyers as well as a website. Helen just needed the logo at this stage. Other items may follow as and when they are required. The first concept board that I emailed to Helen showed a variety of fonts, different positions of the stone and colour ideas. One of the logos has the texture of stone within the text.

Mood Board 1

Concept Board 1

Helen chose the font and wanted to explore the option of a hand drawn heart. I also looked at the text graduating in colours and showed her how the logo would look in greyscale and in black and white.

Moodboard 2

Concept Board 2

We were nearing the end of the journey. After seeing the third concept board, we finalised the colour and Helen decided to have the photographic stone as her main logo but to have the hand drawn heart as an extra icon.

Concept board 3

Concept Board 3

I supplied the final logo in various formats such as eps and jpegs to cater for its various applications. And Heartstone now has a logo!

